Nenad Havelka Lecture of Honor: Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Early Phase of a Scientific Career



The “Nenad Havelka” award is given for outstanding scientific contributions to researchers who are at an early stage of their careers. It was established in 2022, will be awarded for the first time in 2023, and will be awarded once a year. The winner of the award has the honour of delivering a plenary lecture at the annual scientific conference Empirical Research in Psychology. Candidates for the award can be persons who have received their doctorate no more than ten years since the announcement of the competition (not counting the years spent on maternity leave, sick leave, etc.), and who are employed as teachers and/or researchers in a Scientific and Research Organization. The winner of the award is chosen by a jury made up of members of the program board of the scientific meeting Empirical research in psychology, considering all the applications received. When evaluating candidates, the jury adheres to the framework defined in the Rules for evaluating candidates for the “Nenad Havelka” award. The program board reserves the right not to award the award if it judges that the applications did not meet the level of quality that this award entails. Candidates can nominate themselves, and they can also be nominated by colleagues, with the prior consent of the candidate. 


Please send the nominations in the form of a letter with a completed form containing: 

– A short description of your motivation (max. 200 words long): why exactly that person deserves (you deserve) this award 

– A short description (up to 200 words) of the proposed candidate’s research topic 

– A short description (up to 100 words) of the most important contribution of the proposed candidate 

– Three representative publications in which the candidate is the first author and based on which the lecture will be held 

– Candidate’s CV 

– Signed consent for candidate nomination 


You can download the nomination form HERE

You can download the rules for evaluation HERE.


Please send the nominations to the address of the EIP organizing committee (


The deadline for submitting applications is January 15, 2024.




Dr. Zorana Zupan

Stimulus Complexity in Shaping Attention in Developmental Research


Dr. Bojana Dinić

Illuminating dark personality traits

Dr. Janko Međedović

Behavioral ecology of personality: bridging personality evolution between humans and other animals